Sunday, Mar 18th

Last update:10:48:02 PM GMT

You are here: News Sports

News Analysis

Sepp Blatter

E-mail Print PDF

The scandal-hit soccer chief Sepp Blatter has been handed over another four years of power (4th term) following a farcical election in which he was the only candidate. Blatter has won 186 votes out of the 203 cast in the poll this afternoon - with 17 abstentions. It should be noted that the way to presidency of FIFA for Blatter became easy following the withdrawal on of Asian football chief Mohamed bin Hammam on 29 May 2011. Hammam was later suspended amid claims he tried to bribe voters with cash-filled envelopes. Blatter had taken took over FIFA in 1998 and had recently faced widespread calls for reform following allegations of sleaze surrounding the bidding for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups, awarded to Russia and Qatar. The Headquarter of FIFA is located in Zurich, Switzerland.

I-League champs

E-mail Print PDF

Goan club Salgocar has lifted their second national football league title after they defeated JCT 2-0 in their 26th round match of the I-League. Salgaocar needed just a draw to win the title but they struck twice through Francis Fernandes (13th minute) and Yusif Yakubu (85th) to become the third Goan side to claim the crown in four years of I-League.

They had won the National League in 1999. Dempo finished third and Churchill Brothers ended fourth. In the contest for the Golden Boot (highest scorer) Churchill Brothers’ Onyeka Okolie Odafe of Nigeria lost out to compatriot and long time challenger Ranti Martins of Dempo.

Martin, who scored seven goals in Dempo’s incredible 14-0 win against Air India, had a tally of 30 goals. Odafa, with 25 goals, had to be content with the ‘silver boot’.

Santosh Trophy

E-mail Print PDF

Defending champions Bengal won their 31st Santosh Trophy final defeating Manipur 2-1. The 65th edition of the national football championship was played under floodlights at the Jawaharlal Stadium in Guwahati. Manipur, upbeat after having held Bengal 2-2 in an earlier league match, was eyeing their second Santosh Trophy after 2002. This was the Northeast state’s second final appearance. But the more experienced Bengal side prevented Manipur from repeating history. The two teams had met each other in 2002 with Manipur coming up trumps.

About Santosh Trophy:Santosh Trophy is an annual Indian football tournament which is contested by states and government institutions. The tournament first began in 1941, and was the premier football competition in the country before the National Football League started in the year 1996. The trophy as named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, which is now in Bangladesh. The runners-up are given Kamla Gupta Trophy and the third place teams receive the Sampangi Cup. The first event was held in the year 1941 and was won by Bengal. Till date West Bengal has won the Santosh Trophy 31 times, Punjab has won 8 times and Kerala has won 5 times.

European championship

E-mail Print PDF

Brilliant Barcelona, inspired by the peerless Lionel Messi, delivered a soccer master class to overwhelm Manchester United 3-1 in the Champions League final and lifted the European Cup for the fourth time. Goals by Pedro, Messi and David Villa were a fair reflection of the Spanish side’s dominance over Manchester United, who they also beat in the 2009 final. Wayne Rooney briefly levelled the scores but could not stop Barcelona making it three European Cups in six years.


E-mail Print PDF

Terry Jenner
Former Australian Test spinner and coach of spin legend Shane Warne, Terry Jenner, passed away at the age of 66. Jenner, known as the ‘Spin Doctor’, coached Warne throughout his illustrious career. Jenner took 24 wickets in nine Tests for Australia in the early 1970s. Jenner had also served a prison sentence for embezzlement in the 1980s before going on to become spin bowling coach at the Australian Cricket Academy in Adelaide.  There he was credited with having a huge influence on turning fellow leg-spinner Warne into a world class bowler.

Umrigar Award
Sachin Tendulkar and former all-rounder Salim Durrani bagged top honours, while the World Cup winning Indian team led by skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni was felicitated by the BCCI recently. Tendulkar was given the ‘Polly Umrigar Award for India‘s best cricketer of 2009-10‘, while Durrani was felicitated with the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award.
Award winners (2009-2010): Salim Durrani – C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award; Sachin Tendulkar – Polly Umrigar award; Manish Pandey (KSCA) – Madhavrao Scindia award for highest Ranji scorer; Abhimanyu Mithun (KSCA) – Madhavrao Scindia award for highest Ranji wicket-taker.

B. Aparajith (TNCA) – M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-16 player; Bhargav Merai (GCA) – M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-19 player; Nataraj Behera (OCA) – M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-22 player.

M.D. Thirushkamini (TNCA) – M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best woman player; Reva Arora (PCA) – M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best junior woman player.
K. Hariharan – Best umpire in domestic cricket.

Gary Kirsten
The South Frican opening batsman and former coach of India, is now appointed coach of his native South Africa, Cricket South Africa (CSA). He will formally take over in August, 2011 ahead of the two home series against Australia and Sri Lanka.

Page 4 of 5